School Board Information

About Us

The Board of Education consists of nine members elected at large. Three members are elected each year to a three-year term. A student representative completes the board.

The Stoughton Area School District serves the City of Stoughton and parts of towns of Albion, Christiana, Cottage Grove, Deerfield, Dunkirk, Dunn, Pleasant Springs, and Rutland in Dane County; and parts of the Towns of Porter and Union in Rock County.


Regular meetings of the Board of Education will be held in the Administrative and Educational Services Center Board Room or other location designated by the Board of Education on the first and third Mondays of each month, time to be set by the Board of Education. Special meetings shall be held upon the written request of any Board of Education member; meetings may be held in closed session as determined by the Board of Education.

COVID-19 Update - During the pandemic, the board has adopted Policy 110.50 Board Meetings Using Technology and Remote Participation in Emergency Situations.  This policy allows the school board members to join meetings virtually. You can learn more about this policy here. Meetings will be scheduled as usual. 

Public Comments

The Board of Education believes in the importance of hearing public comments about issues impacting the district.

COVID-19 Update - During the pandemic, public comments will be accepted in two ways: 

  1. As part of the regular meeting, the Board will accept written comments from members of the public. Written comments for the regular board meeting should be submitted via email to up to 30 minutes prior to the scheduled meeting time. Comments must not exceed 250 words and must include the name and address of the commenter. Comments that do not meet these criteria or otherwise do not comply with the Board's public comment policy will not be read.
  2. The Board will provide the opportunity at every regularly scheduled meeting of the Board for the public to address the Board.  Simply add your name, address, and topic to the sign up sheet available as you enter the board room.  People will speak in the order in which they sign up and will be granted approximately 3 minutes to address the board.  If a group of more than 4 persons is signed up to address a concern, the group must choose one of its members to speak on the group's behalf.  The group's presentation may not exceed 6 minutes.  You can learn more about Policy 0167.3 "Public Participation at Board Meetings" here.


The Board of Education has eight standing committees: Governance, Long-Range Planning, Finance and Facilities, Educational Oversight, Employee Relations, Community Relations, Culture & Climate and Legislative & State Policy . The functions of the standing committees shall be fact-finding, deliberative and advisory to the Board. You can learn more about each standing committee from Board Policy 0155 "Committees" here

School Board E-Governance Information

The Stoughton Area School District Board of Education has adopted "Next Generation" Board Management technology to improve the board governance process while saving time and taxpayer dollars. The board management solution, called BoardDocs, adds powerful meeting management tools, including Comprehensive Meeting Management, Policy Management, and a Multi-purpose Library.

Public access to BoardDocs is accessible via the district website and allows review of all meeting information prior to meetings. All documents associated with the meeting are automatically archived and can be accessed by date or by using the system's comprehensive Search feature.

If you have questions regarding board meeting information, please contact the District Administrator's office at (608) 877-5002.


School Board

Francis Sullivan, President
1623 Roby Road
Stoughton, WI 53589
Term Ends: 2024

Jill Patterson, Vice President
400 S. Page Street
Stoughton, WI 53589
(206) 280-8370
Term Ends: 2022

Joe Freye, Treasurer
1511 Willow Dr.
Stoughton, WI 53589
Term Ends: 2022

Yolibeth Rangel-FitzGibbon, Clerk
669 Cty Hwy N
Stoughton, WI 53589
(608) 577-8306
Term Ends: 2022

Tim Bubon
127 E. Prospect St
Stoughton, WI 53589
(608) 347-1258
Term Ends: 2023

Mia Croyle
1315 W South Street
Stoughton, WI 53589
Term Ends: 2024

Steve Jackson
2697 Rolling View Rd
Stoughton, WI 53589
Term Ends: 2023

Allison Sorg
109 S. Madison St.
Stoughton, WI 53589
Term Ends: 2024

Holly Tellander
208 Isham St.
Stoughton, WI 53589
Term Ends: 2023

Hailey S.
Student Representative
Term Ends: 2022